
The Blue Monastery
The Blue Monastery stands on the right bank of the
The church was built towards the end of the XII century. It still harbors some parts of the ancient temple which stood here before. According to the inscription on the Southern wall, it was built by the chief priest of Basili of Kartli. His bones are thought to be buried here. The Blue Monastery was a domed church initially, which resembles other temples built during centuries XII – XIII (Bethania and Kvatakhevi.) The monastery suffered multiple destructions during ages and was restored as a basilica in the centuries XVI-XVII. The church got its final look during the Russian Reign, when it was domed and rebuilt in a style that differed from Georgian in 1873. Ertguleba Charity Fund helped the decoration of the School of Parishioner of the
|
|